My first few projects

I want guys to wear bow ties so badly and sometime this last spring I finally convinced Austin to buy one. Only problem was that when we went to Macy’s to pick out a few ties I found out that they’re $40. Ugh, why do you have to ruin my dreams, Macy’s?!

This is what inspired me to make bow ties a priority when I finally got my sewing machine 😀 The first one was horrible, I had a stash of all types of fabric but no interfacing so I convinced myself that was a completely unnecessary step that people made up just to be difficult. The bowtie ended up a floppy disaster, of course, so there’s a lesson learned right there.

Second tie ended up too thick around the neck part but the third one was a success! I made that hat in the background, too. I made it out of a starry fat quarter and I think it turned out rather well. The curves aren’t exactly perfect,IMAG0146 I need to figure out how to make the ends pointier, and the middle stitching part needs some work to look presentable wonky join but overall, I’m happy with this project.

Before I started the fourth bowtie, I made sure to Google how to get pointier ends and smoother curves and I discovered clipping corners and pressing seams. I’ll post pictures of those processes some other time but it really made all the difference. look at those curves! IMAG0148

Note: I’m not sure how to make my pictures bigger on this blog thing. I know the files are bigger than this so what gives?

I have a ton of fabric to make more ties but, like I said in my earlier post, I’m putting off making any more projects until after my lesson at City Craft. My tension is all wonky and I didn’t consult any books to get down my technique, so that’s probably all messed up too. I definitely don’t want to get into the habit of doing things the incorrect way. I really miss sewing, though, (had to schedule it two weeks in advanced) so I really really really can’t wait for my class!!

Excited to get back in the game,

Celeste

One thought on “My first few projects

Leave a Reply

