Dress forms

I understand that I’m not anywhere near the skill level where I’ll really NEED a dress form but I would like to start trying to make dresses and skirts as soon as possible. Part of the reason I wanted to learn how to sew was because none of the store-bought dresses fit my chest. They’re all reasonably modest on regular chested girls but I look like a hooker when I wear them. I tried to convince myself that it doesn’t matter what other people think and I shouldn’t be ashamed of my body but I’m tired of the judgmental looks I get from women and the leers I get from men. I’m not a hoochie, I just can’t find dresses that fit in the chest!! You know what, who cares if I was a hoochie?? People just need to stop being jerks. But the world isn’t going to change any time soon so I need to make myself some better fitting dresses. 

I’m undecided whether I should get one of these Image dress forms which I think look a little fancier but aren’t adjustable or if I should get an adjustable form Image that isn’t as aesthetically pleasing but will be a lot more useful because I can adjust it to my measurements. I really can’t justify prioritizing looks for utility, so I’ll probably end up getting the second one. But for now I can just make my own dress form out of duct tape!! I think I’ll just do that… 

Also, I kind of want to put off making dresses until I’ve lost a bit of weight. I’ve been working out a lot lately on the elliptical my mom just bought but I haven’t been adjusting my eating habits and dieting is like 70% of weight loss. I seriously need to get my shit together. 

Leave a Reply

