I made a skirt!!

Hey y’all!

So about a month ago, my aunt asked me to make a skirt for her Halloween outfit and that prompted me to dig around for free skirt patterns because we wanted to make her outfit on the cheap 😉 Luckily, I found a GREAT pattern that worked out really well and the skirt turned out so cute that I decided to turn around make one for myself. http://www.allfreesewing.com/Bottoms-to-Sew/Dirndl-Skirt This is a Drindl skirt, by Megan Nielsen, who I’m already a big fan of (I’ve bought her Tania culottes pattern, but I still need to hem that project…) and I decided I wanted a white skirt with a floral print because the picture on the website inspired me

Image

OK, that picture looked a lot less blurry on my phone, ugh. Luckily I took more pictures! This skirt was really neat because I got to practice putting in a zipper

Image

I’ve discovered that I really enjoy the process of putting a zipper in, and I was surprised by how well it turned out. I also got to add these really cute button details

Image

I absolutely adore those buttons, they were an impulse buy and I’m really really glad that I decided to get them. And of course, the fact that there are buttons means that there are buttonholes.

55C8PNU

My button holes ended up different lengths, which is weird because I used the buttonhole foot and the same button for both and I’m not exactly sure what happened?? I guess my buttonholes were meant to be brothers, not twins. Oh well 🙂

OQJn12N

And here’s a picture of me wearing the skirt for good measure. Ok, so taking this picture and trying on the skirt has made me really think about my weight. I’ve been trying to lose weight lately by exercising and trying to eat better and my waist is definitely getting smaller and my pants are fitting more loosely but I can’t help but feel like I still have a large “muffin top” section. This is kind of problematic when I try to make high-waisted skirts because it’ll fit me really well on my waist but then it puffs out a lot because of my “muffin.” I’ll be honest, it makes me feel a tad bit self conscious because I obviously want the clothes I make to fit me as well as possible but I feel like my love handles are preventing that a bit. So, with that in mind, I’m definitely going to keep up the good progress that I’ve been making and this’ll help motivate me. Anyway, this is just a thought that popped up in my head while modeling my new skirt 🙂

xoxo,

Celeste

One thought on “I made a skirt!!

Leave a Reply

